SEAI Grants of up to €300 available, subject to eligibility Check in 40 seconds
My price
Home  /  Dublin

EV charger installation in County Dublin

Short answer

Installing a home EV charger costs €899 to €1,595, most often about €1,249, or €599 to €1,295 after the €300 SEAI grant. The chargers cost the same in Dublin; the house sets the extras. Of the homes in Dublin, 57.8% were built in 1990 or earlier (Ireland: 50.8%), and homes built before 1990 can need €500 to €650 more for new meter tails, earthing and a fuse board.

Dublin has one of the highest concentrations of electric cars in the country. 48,945 private EVs are taxed here, 7.61% of the county's car fleet, against a national average of 5.02%. That means more of your neighbours have already been through this than almost anywhere else in Ireland.

We introduce homeowners across Dublin City, Swords, Blanchardstown, Tallaght, Dun Laoghaire, Balbriggan and the rest of the county to Safe Electric registered electrical contractors.

See my price in 3 taps

What a Dublin job typically costs

Typical Dublin prices by job, before the €300 SEAI grant. Ask for the VAT to be stated.

7.4 kW untethered, standard job€1,100–€1,450 incl. VAT
7.4 kW tethered€1,200–€1,550 incl. VAT
7.4 kW smart charger€1,400–€1,800 incl. VAT
zappi solar-ready€1,700–€2,100 incl. VAT
SyncEV car charger€1,295 VAT not stated
Zappi v2.1€1,595 VAT not stated

Dublin by the numbers

Private electric cars taxed in Dublin48,945
Share of the county's car fleet7.61% (national 5.02%)
Rank among the 26 counties for EV density#1
New cars taxed here in 2026 that were electric26.0% (9,596 of them, Jan–Jul 2026)
Same figure across 202522.6% (10,155)
Public charging locations219
Public charge points797 (423 fast)
Private EVs per public charge point61.4 (national 38.2)
SEAI EV grants paid here, 2021–202524,580

Why this matters if you park at home

Around 80% of Irish homes have off-street parking, and the government's own draft strategy expects over 80% of EV charging to happen at home. Nationally there are about 38.2 private electric cars for every public charge point. In Dublin that figure is 61.4. Public charging is a backup. The charger on your own wall is the one you actually use.

Dublin is covered by the Dublin Local Authority Electric Vehicle Charging Strategy 2022-2030, and the national Regional and Local EV Charging Network Plan sets the county a public charging capacity target of 42,296 kW in 2025 rising to 144,226 kW by 2030.

The mistake that costs people €300

Do not let any installer start work before your SEAI Letter of Offer arrives. SEAI's own wording is not to commence work before the start date on the letter, otherwise the expenditure is deemed ineligible. There is no appeal. People lose the €300 on the order they do things in, not on eligibility, and 24,580 grants have already been paid in Dublin, so this is not a hypothetical.

Check where you stand

Questions people in Dublin ask

How much does it cost to install a home EV charger in Dublin?

Installed prices typically run from €899 to €1,595, most often about €1,249, or €599 to €1,295 after the €300 SEAI grant. Ask for a written price that states the VAT. The chargers cost the same in Dublin. What moves the bill is the house: 57.8% of homes in County Dublin were built in 1990 or earlier (Census 2022), and homes built before 1990 can need €500 to €650 more for new meter tails, earthing and a fuse board. The Safe Electric registered contractor we introduce you to confirms a fixed written price before any work starts.

Can I get the €300 SEAI grant in Dublin?

Yes, if the property has a private off-street parking space. The grant is national, not county-based. Between 2021 and 2025, 24,580 SEAI electric vehicle grants of all types were paid to applicants in Dublin. The critical rule is sequencing: do not let anyone start work before your Letter of Offer arrives, or SEAI deems the spend ineligible and the €300 is gone.

How many public chargers are there in Dublin?

At the end of December 2025 the CSO recorded 219 public charging locations in Dublin, with 797 individual charge points, of which 423 are fast chargers. That works out at roughly 61.4 private electric cars per public charge point in the county, against 38.2 nationally.

Who actually does the installation?

A Safe Electric registered electrical contractor working in Dublin. We are not an electrical contractor. We price the job, explain the grant forms and introduce you to a registered installer covering your area. You get the installer's name and registration number before anyone visits.

Do I need to own an electric car already?

No. SEAI's home charger grant is open to homeowners and residents whether or not they currently own an EV, so you can have the grant offer in hand before the car is even delivered.

Every town we cover in Dublin

Each has its own page with local population, housing mix and ESB charge point figures.

Tallaght79,822 people · D24Dun Laoghaire46,603 people · A96Swords40,776 people · K67Blanchardstown40,022 people · D15Balbriggan24,322 people · K32Malahide18,608 people · K36Rush10,875 people · K56Portmarnock10,750 people · D13Skerries10,743 people · K34Donabate9,669 people · K36Lusk8,806 people · K45Rathcoole5,792 people · D24

Nearby counties

Meath6,950 EVs · 122 public chargersKildare9,196 EVs · 187 public chargersWicklow6,097 EVs · 126 public chargers
Fixed written price

What will it cost at your house?

Tell us where you are and we'll come back with a fixed written price in County Dublin, and whether the €300 SEAI grant applies to your property.

No cost, no obligation. We price the job and introduce you to a Safe Electric registered electrical contractor. We are not an electrical contractor ourselves.

Get your Dublin price in three taps

No forms before you see a number. Tell us your car, where you park and how far the fuse board is. Then we explain the grant forms and introduce you to a Safe Electric registered contractor covering Dublin.

See my price