Both are 7 kW-class smart chargers on sale in Ireland with SEAI-grant versions. The main differences are in the makers' own data sheets: the zappi connects over Wi-Fi or Ethernet and has a 22 kW three-phase version, while Ohme's chargers connect over a 4G SIM and are single-phase only (Ohme). Installed, an Ohme ePod starts at €1,199 and a zappi at €1,395 before the grant.
Key points
| myenergi zappi | Ohme Home Pro | Ohme ePod | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rated power | 7 kW single-phase or 22 kW three-phase | 7.4 kW single-phase | 7.4 kW single-phase |
| Current | 32 A max, 6 A to 32 A variable | 32 A max | 32 A max |
| Cable | Tethered (6.5 m, Type 2) or untethered Type 2 socket | Tethered, Type 2 plug | Untethered, Type 2 socket |
| Connectivity | Built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet | 3G/4G SIM, cost covered by Ohme for 3 years | 3G/4G SIM, cost covered by Ohme for 3 years |
| Display | Backlit LCD and LED | LCD screen and LED strip | LED status strip, no screen |
| Size (H × W × D) | 439 × 282 × 122 mm | 170 × 200 × 100 mm | 230 × 140 × 100 mm |
| Weight | Not stated | 4 kg | 1.5 kg |
| Weatherproofing | IP65 | IP55 | IP54 |
| Impact rating | IK10 | IK08 | IK08 |
| Operating temperature | −25 °C to +40 °C | −25 °C to 45 °C | −25 °C to 50 °C |
| Built-in RCD | 30 mA Type A with 6 mA DC | 30 mA Type A with 6 mA DC | 30 mA Type A with 6 mA DC |
| PEN fault detection | Not stated on the data sheet | Built in | Built in |
| Solar charging | ECO and ECO+ modes follow surplus generation | With a working CT clamp | With a working CT clamp |
| Warranty | 3 years | Not stated on the data sheets; ask the installer | |
Both can use surplus solar power. The zappi data sheet describes three modes: FAST, which charges at the fastest rate, and ECO and ECO+, which adjust the charge rate to surplus generation from solar PV or wind. Clip-on grid sensors come in the box. Ohme's data sheets say solar charging and dynamic load balancing are enabled with a working CT clamp, so drivers can charge from excess solar generation (Ohme).
If you want the car to charge only from what the panels are exporting, ask the installer to show you how that's set up on the model you're buying, and where the CT clamp or sensor goes in your fuse board.
This is the practical difference people notice. The zappi talks to its app over your home Wi-Fi or an Ethernet cable, so a weak Wi-Fi signal at the gable wall matters. Ohme's chargers use a built-in 3G/4G SIM, with the cost covered by Ohme for the first 3 years (Ohme), so they don't rely on your router but do rely on mobile coverage where the charger is mounted.
The zappi comes in a 22 kW three-phase version. The Ohme Home Pro and ePod data sheets are for single-phase supplies. Most homes are single-phase, and three-phase needs an ESB Networks upgrade: see 3-phase chargers before you pay for a 22 kW unit.
| Charger | Typical installed, before grant | After €300 |
|---|---|---|
| Ohme ePod | €1,199 | €899 |
| Ohme Home Pro | €1,249 | €949 |
| zappi 7 kW | €1,395–€1,495 | €1,095–€1,195 |
Check the exact model against SEAI's Smart Charger Register before you buy, so the €300 grant applies.
Tell us where you are and whether you have solar. We come back with a fixed written price for the charger that suits the house.
No cost, no obligation. We price the job and introduce you to a Safe Electric registered electrical contractor. We are not an electrical contractor ourselves.
Both can charge from surplus solar. The zappi has ECO and ECO+ modes that follow surplus generation; Ohme's chargers do it with a working CT clamp, according to their data sheets.
No. Ohme's data sheets list a 3G/4G SIM, with the cost covered by Ohme for the first 3 years. The zappi uses Wi-Fi or Ethernet.
Installed, an Ohme ePod typically costs €1,199 and a zappi €1,395 to €1,495, before the €300 grant.
The Ohme Home Pro and ePod data sheets are for 7.4 kW single-phase. The zappi has a 22 kW three-phase version. A home needs a three-phase supply to use 22 kW.
The grant needs the exact model to be on SEAI's Smart Charger Register. Ohme's ePod data sheet says it's SEAI grant approved. Check any model on the register before you pay a deposit.