SEAI Grants of up to €300, if you apply before any work starts Grant up to €300 Check in 40 seconds →
evcharger
installation.ie
My price

Home EV charger installation · Ireland

EV charger installation in Ireland: your installed price in 3 taps

Worked out from 13 published Irish prices, with the €300 SEAI grant rules checked against seai.ie.

Free, and no contact details to see a number. You get your price range, what could add to it and your grant answer first. A fixed written price from a registered installer is there if you want it.

€1,249
median published installed price
€899–€1,595
range across 13 published prices
€300
SEAI grant, paid to you after the work
6 months
to fit and claim after your Letter of Offer

Prices read on Irish suppliers' own sites. Last checked 1 November 2026. See every price and source

What are you driving?
Step 1 of 3
No contact details needed to see your price

What it costs

13 published installed prices, lowest to highest

The chargers cost the same in every county. Your house sets the extras. These are installed prices (charger plus a standard fit) exactly as each supplier publishes them.

  • Zappi Eco 7 kW€899
  • EO Mini Pro 3 7 kW€929
  • Easee Charge Lite 7.4 kW€1,049
  • Wallbox Pulsar 7–22 kW€1,049
  • Wallbox Pulsar Plus 7.4 kW€1,099
  • Ohme ePod 7 kW€1,199
  • Ohme Home Pro 7 kW€1,249
  • SyncEV Car Charger 7.4/22 kW€1,295
  • Hypervolt Home 3 Pro 7 kW€1,299
  • EO Smart Connect 7–22 kW€1,299
  • Zappi (myenergi) 7 kW€1,445
  • Zappi Pro 7–22 kW€1,499
  • Zappi v2.1 7/22 kW€1,595

Read on each supplier's own site on 9 September 2026 and rechecked on 30 October and 1 November 2026: charger.ie, kv.ie, homeevcharger.ie, Gorman Electrical Services, Volt Éire and evchargers.ie. Where a supplier gave a range we took the midpoint. None of the 13 unit prices says whether VAT is included, so ask for a written price that states it. Gorman Electrical's whole-job prices include VAT at 13.5%.

  • €1,249The median. Half the published prices are below it, half above.
  • €949The median after the €300 SEAI grant, if your home qualifies.
  • €696The gap between the lowest and highest price, for a job that is the same job in most houses.
  • €1,000–€2,100What installers quote when they price the whole job rather than the unit.

Short answers · last checked 1 November 2026

EV charger installation in Ireland: the four numbers people ask for

  • €899–€1,595Installed price. 13 published prices, median €1,249. After the €300 grant: €599–€1,295. Every price
  • Up to €300SEAI grant. "100% of total installation costs to a maximum value of €300", paid to your bank account after the work. No work before the start date on your Letter of Offer (SEAI). Check yours
  • 2–4 hoursInstallation on the day, for a standard job. 2 to 6 weeks from first quote to charging. Installer by installer
  • +€50–€100Tethered over untethered, for the same charger, in most published Irish prices. A zappi is the same price either way. Compared

What Irish installers and sellers publish

Gorman Electrical Services, Dublin 127.4 kW untethered €1,100–€1,450; tethered €1,200–€1,550; smart €1,400–€1,800; zappi solar-ready €1,700–€2,100. Standard job, short cable run. Includes VAT at 13.5%.€1,100–€2,100
Electric IrelandOhme ePod €1,050; Ohme Home Pro €1,150; zappi GLO €1,150; zappi €1,199, all "including standard installation and SEAI grant". Its comparison table lists them €300 higher. VAT not stated.€1,050–€1,199
Volt Éire, Co. KerryBENY 7.4 kW €1,599; Wallbox Pulsar Max from €1,799; Zappi GLO from €1,899; Ohme Home Pro from €1,999; Ohme ePod €2,099, all-in. VAT not stated.€1,599–€2,099
kv.ie (installer quotes)Easee Charge Lite €1,049; Wallbox Pulsar Plus €1,099; Ohme ePod €1,199; Ohme Home Pro €1,249; Hypervolt Home 3 Pro €1,299; zappi €1,395–€1,495. VAT not stated.€1,049–€1,495
homeevcharger.ieZappi Eco €899; EO Mini Pro 3 €929; Wallbox Pulsar €1,049; EO Smart Connect €1,299; Zappi Pro €1,499. VAT not stated.€899–€1,499
charger.ie, DublinSyncEV €1,295; Zappi v2.1 €1,595. VAT not stated.€1,295–€1,595
evchargers.ie"A full supply and installation costs between €1,000 and €1,300". VAT not stated.€1,000–€1,300

Each price as published on the seller's own page, read 1 November 2026. Installed prices for a standard job; extras such as a fuse board upgrade or trenching are on top. Which charger suits which house.

Why quotes differ

What moves the price on your house

The advertised price is rarely the number on the invoice, and the gap is usually not a scam. It is one of these. Every figure is published by one of the installers above.

Fuse board / consumer unit upgradeOlder board with no spare way, or no RCD protection€200–€600
Meter tails upgradeCommon on 1990s houses€300–€400
Cable run beyond the standard lengthStandard installs cover about 5 m€50–€400
Trenching through grass or soft groundDetached garage, or a charger away from the house€200–€300
Trenching through tarmac or pavingReinstating a driveway costs more than digging it€400–€550
Demand management deviceWhere the supply cannot carry the charger at full load with the house€180
Tethered instead of untetheredA fixed cable rather than a socket€50–€200

The three that catch most people: an older fuse board with no spare way, a charger going somewhere that needs the cable dug in, and a 1990s house needing its meter tails upgraded.

Homes built before 1990 are where board work is most likely. Gorman Electrical quote €500 to €650 for meter tails, earthing and the board on those houses.

SEAI does not pay for wiring upgrades such as earthing, meter tails or bonding. They sit on top of the grant, so get them priced in writing before the day.

SEAI home charger grant

The €300 grant, in the order that keeps it

People lose the grant on the order they do things in, not on eligibility. Checked against SEAI's grant page on 29 October 2026.

  1. Check the charger is on SEAI's Smart Charger RegisterA unit that is not on the register is not grant-eligible, whoever fits it.
  2. Apply online with your MPRN and EircodeYour MPRN is the 11-digit number on your electricity bill. You do not need to own the car yet.
  3. Wait for your Letter of OfferIt is valid for 6 months. Book the installation for a date after its start date.
  4. A Safe Electric registered contractor fits itThey send Certificate Number 3 to Safe Electric and give you a copy and the Test Record Sheet.
  5. Send the Payment Request Form and documentsCertificate, test sheet, invoices and photos. SEAI pays by bank transfer about 4 to 6 weeks later.
Do not let anyone start work before the start date on your Letter of Offer. SEAI treats that spending as ineligible and the €300 is gone. There is no appeal.

Who qualifies: a home with its own private off-street parking, inside the property boundary, that has not had an EV home charger grant before or a free ESB ecars charger fitted before 2018. One charger per MPRN.

Apartments and shared car parks go through a separate SEAI scheme, normally applied for by the management company. What applies to you.

Before you book anyone

Check the installer on the Safe Electric register

SEAI only pays the grant when the work is done by a contractor registered with Safe Electric Ireland, and it checks the registration before it pays. Check it yourself before you book.

  1. Open the registerGo to Find a Registered Electrical Contractor on safeelectric.ie. Pick your county and type your town.
  2. Match the name on your quoteThe business name on the quote should be on the register. If it is not there, contact Safe Electric before you book.
  3. Get the certificate when the job is doneA registered contractor issues Certificate Number 3 for the job. You need a copy for your grant claim.

Our side of it. We only pass your details to a contractor on that register, one contractor and nobody else. You get their name and registration before anyone visits, so you can check them yourself.

We are not an electrical contractor and we do not do electrical work. You pay us nothing. If you go ahead with the contractor, they pay us a fee. That is why we would rather tell you the grant does not apply than waste your time.

If you leave your details

What happens after you send them

  1. We read your answersYour car, where you park, roughly how far the fuse board is, and your Eircode, checked against the grant rules.
  2. You get a written price range and a straight grant answerWhat a job like yours costs installed, whether the €300 applies to your home, and what to do first so you do not lose it.
  3. If you want a fixed price, one registered installer prices itWe pass your details to one Safe Electric registered contractor covering your area. They give you a fixed written price that states VAT.
  4. You decideNo deposit, no obligation. Nothing is booked until you say yes.

Ask any installer these five questions before you agree a price:

  1. Does the price include VAT?
  2. What is your Safe Electric registration, and will you give me a copy of Certificate Number 3?
  3. Is this charger on SEAI's Smart Charger Register?
  4. How many metres of cable are included, and what does each extra metre cost?
  5. Does my fuse board or meter tails need work, and what does that add?

Questions

Straight answers to what people ask first

How much does a home charger cost to install in Ireland?

Published installed prices run from €899 to €1,595, with a median of €1,249, or €599 to €1,295 after the €300 SEAI grant (13 prices on suppliers' own sites, read 9 September 2026 and rechecked 30 October 2026; none says whether VAT is included). Extras such as a fuse board upgrade or a long cable run are what move the final bill. The price tool above gives you an indicative range in three taps. Only an installer who has seen your house can give a fixed written price.

How does the SEAI grant work?

SEAI pays up to €300 towards a home charger. You apply first and wait for your Letter of Offer. The work is done after the start date on that letter, by a Safe Electric registered contractor, with a charger on SEAI's Smart Charger Register. You pay the installer, send the documents within six months of the offer, and SEAI pays you by bank transfer. Start work before the letter and the grant is gone.

Do I need an electric car before I apply for the grant?

No. SEAI says homeowners and residents can apply whether or not they own an EV yet, so the offer can be in place before the car arrives.

How long does it take to install a home EV charger?

2 to 4 hours for a standard job, in one visit. Electric Ireland says 2 to 3 hours and Gorman Electrical in Dublin 4 to 6. From first quote to charging, Electric Ireland says 2 to 4 weeks and kv.ie 3 to 6 weeks, mostly waiting for the SEAI Letter of Offer and an installation date.

Should I get a tethered or untethered charger?

Tethered has the cable fixed to the charger, so you just unhook it and plug in. Untethered is a socket for your own cable: tidier on the wall, and you choose the cable length. For the same charger, most published Irish prices put tethered €50 to €100 higher. A zappi is the same price either way.

Do I need to upgrade my fuse board?

Often not. The charger needs its own protected circuit on your board. Older boards with no spare way or no RCD protection need work: published prices for a board upgrade run €200 to €600, and Gorman Electrical quote €500 to €650 for homes built before 1990. SEAI does not pay for wiring upgrades such as earthing or meter tails, so get this priced before the day.

How do I check an installer is registered?

Search the Safe Electric register at safeelectric.ie by county and town, and match the business name on your quote to a name on the register. When the job is done, the contractor sends Certificate Number 3 to Safe Electric and gives you a copy, which goes in with your grant claim.

Will it work with my car?

Yes. All modern EVs and plug-in hybrids sold in Ireland use the same Type 2 connection, so any charger fitted will work with your car, and your next one.

Who are you, and who does the work?

evchargerinstallation.ie is run by Bartlomiej Standa, a sole trader trading as Elevate Ireland. We are not an electrical contractor and we do not do electrical work. We price the job and explain the grant. If you want a fixed price, we pass your details to one Safe Electric registered contractor covering your area, and you get their name and registration before anyone visits. You pay us nothing. If you go ahead with that contractor, they pay us a fee.

See your installed price before anyone rings you

Three taps. Your range, what could add to it and your grant answer.

Get my installed price

Home charger prices by county

Every county has its own page: how many EVs are on the road there, how many public charge points they share, how many SEAI grants have been paid, and what installation costs locally. Figures are CSO and ZEVI, not estimates.

Carlow 1,283 EVsCavan 1,109 EVsClare 2,648 EVsCork 14,697 EVsDonegal 1,998 EVsDublin 48,945 EVsGalway 5,190 EVsKerry 2,464 EVsKildare 9,196 EVsKilkenny 2,112 EVsLaois 1,854 EVsLeitrim 449 EVsLimerick 3,866 EVsLongford 584 EVsLouth 3,528 EVsMayo 1,712 EVsMeath 6,950 EVsMonaghan 782 EVsOffaly 1,350 EVsRoscommon 1,014 EVsSligo 1,304 EVsTipperary 2,768 EVsWaterford 2,850 EVsWestmeath 2,075 EVsWexford 3,815 EVsWicklow 6,097 EVs

Athlone · Balbriggan · Blanchardstown · Bray · Carlow · Celbridge · Drogheda · Dun Laoghaire · Dundalk · Ennis · Greystones · Kilkenny · Letterkenny · Mullingar · Naas · Navan · Newbridge · Portlaoise · Sligo · Swords · Tallaght · Tralee · Waterford · Wexford

Every other town page, by county

Carlow: Muine Bheag · Tullow

Cavan: Bailieborough · Cavan · Cootehill · Virginia

Clare: Ennistymon · Kilrush · Shannon

Cork: Bandon · Carrigaline · Carrigtwohill · Clonakilty · Cobh · Fermoy · Kinsale · Mallow · Midleton · Skibbereen · Youghal

Donegal: Ballybofey · Buncrana · Donegal Town · Dungloe

Dublin: Donabate · Lusk · Malahide · Portmarnock · Rathcoole · Rush · Skerries

Galway: Ballinasloe · Loughrea · Oranmore · Tuam

Kerry: Dingle · Kenmare · Killarney · Listowel

Kildare: Athy · Clane · Kilcock · Kildare · Leixlip · Maynooth · Monasterevin · Sallins

Kilkenny: Callan · Castlecomer

Laois: Abbeyleix · Mountmellick · Portarlington · Stradbally

Leitrim: Ballinamore · Carrick-on-Shannon · Manorhamilton

Limerick: Newcastle West

Longford: Edgeworthstown · Granard · Longford

Louth: Ardee

Mayo: Ballina · Castlebar · Claremorris · Westport

Meath: Ashbourne · Dunboyne · Dunshaughlin · Kells · Laytown · Ratoath · Trim

Monaghan: Carrickmacross · Castleblayney · Clones · Monaghan

Offaly: Birr · Clara · Edenderry · Tullamore

Roscommon: Ballaghaderreen · Boyle · Castlerea · Roscommon

Sligo: Strandhill · Tubbercurry

Tipperary: Cahir · Carrick-on-Suir · Clonmel · Nenagh · Roscrea · Thurles · Tipperary

Waterford: Dungarvan · Lismore · Tramore

Westmeath: Moate

Wexford: Enniscorthy · Gorey · New Ross

Wicklow: Arklow · Blessington · Wicklow

All 26 counties and 127 towns → What it actually costs →